Sika's global automotive business has been selected as finalist for 2015 Automotive News PACE (Premier Automotive Suppliers’ Contribution to Excellence) Awards for innovation.

Sikaflex® automotive product family

For nearly 20 years, the Automotive News PACE Awards have been recognizing innovations in the global automotive supply chain. For its 2015 edition, Sika Region Global Automotive’s Ultra-High Modulus Adhesive (UHM) for Mixed Material Bonding has been selected as a finalist.

The innovative adhesive, part of the Sikaflex® automotive product family, is a cold-applied, high-viscous, semi-structural, one-component polyurethane adhesive with high elongation and ultra-high e-modulus for its class. The adhesive is positioned for semi-structural bonding of modern lightweight materials such as aluminum and CFRP or other conventional materials.

The high elongation can compensate for the different thermal expansion coefficients of dissimilar materials, the “delta alpha” effect, in mixed material bonding; while still being crash resistant due its very stable modulus over the vehicle’s utility range. The adhesive is based on Sika’s innovative and patented i-Cure® technology, which ensures accelerated curing without changing the product's mechanical properties, while greatly reduces the carbon footprint in vehicle manufacturing.

Customer First

“Sika has had over a century of innovative tradition. We are very proud to have this automotive innovation recognized by the PACE Awards Panel. The Ultra-High Modulus Adhesive was specifically engineered to enable our customers to have maximum flexibility in designing and manufacturing vehicles which require bonding of mixed material such as CFRP, aluminum and steel.

This is Sika’s philosophy: By being customer focused in the way we innovate, we will continue to deliver products and technologies to help our customers to build lighter, greener, stronger and quieter vehicles.“, said Sika’s Executive Vice President Dave Jones, Head of Global Automotive business.

The 2015 PACE Awards are jointly presented by EY, Transportation Research Center Inc. (TRC Inc.) and Automotive News. The winners are determined by an independent panel of judges and will be announced on Monday, April 20, 2015, at the Max M. Fisher Music Center in Detroit, Michigan. The event opens the SAE Week in Detroit and highlights the top innovators in the world.